Baking Susan

Love to Bake!!

TWD: Pecan Sticky Buns

on May 15, 2012

Today’s recipe is being hosted by Lynn of Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat and Nicole of Cookies on Friday.  I must say this made my house smell divine!!  My husband saw them, and gave me fair warning that he better get one of them!!  They did take a lot of time and energy to make, but weren’t difficult necessarily.  However, I did add some extra cinnamon, 1/4 tsp for 14 rolls seemed skimpy, I used 1 tsp. I have never made sticky buns before, only cinnamon rolls.  So I found it interesting that these buns are actually baked upside down, where the “sticky” layer comes from butter and brown sugar on the bottom of the pan, and then the whole thing is flipped over.  Personally, I just thought they were okay.  Others that had tasted my batch enjoyed them more.  My husband thinks they would be better with more nut filling (more like a nut roll).  Too bad I doubt he will ever get to try that, since I will probably stick with my easier cinnamon roll recipe that has more of a “doughy” texture than a “flaky” one like this (I prefer doughy).

6 responses to “TWD: Pecan Sticky Buns

  1. Looks great!! although I am disappointed that they were just okay — will see. I am using raisins instead of pecans. I started this recipe but ran out of time to actually get them baked by today so I will post next tuesday about it — on our makeup day! Will let you know what the kids think about it.

  2. I know…didn’t the house smell wonderful!! Your buns look great 🙂

  3. We really enjoyed them in my family but I guess we are “flaky” LOL 🙂

  4. Kathy says:

    These were worth the time element…so very delicious…I guess I’m flaky! Yours look delicious!

  5. Cher says:

    Very nicely done.
    These were definitely a time commitment.

  6. They did smell wonderful! They look great!

Leave a Reply

