Baking Susan

Love to Bake!!

TWD: Chocolate Truffle Tart

on February 21, 2012

Well, first of all, this was supposed to be tartlets and I do not have tartlet pans, nor do I have a tart pan for that matter.  So decided to make do with a pie pan.  The only problem I encountered, was guessing the amount of time to cook the tart being a large glass pie pan.  And apparently, I over guessed.  I don’t think it had the texture it was supposed to have.  All in all it was not a hard recipe to make.  Especially, I think, if I had the correct tartlet pans, and cooked it according to the recipe, it probably would have turned out right.  The taste I found to be not very sweet, and may have tasted better with an accent of whipped cream or ice cream!

Below I am showing pictures of the cooked crust, the tart shell with filling, the finished/cooked tart, and then a slice of the tart, so you can see the inside.

This week’s TWD hosts are Steph, Spike, Jaime, and Jessica and you should be able to find the recipe of these tartlets posted in their blogs.

10 responses to “TWD: Chocolate Truffle Tart

  1. Julia says:

    Your pie looks lovely. I too wish I’d had some vanilla ice cream on hand.

  2. Stephanie B says:

    I did the little tarts, and even with those it was tough to judge when they were done. Still looks like it came out well for you, though! 🙂

  3. Kim says:

    I didn’t even think of doing it in pie pan..smart idea. Looks like it turned out great. 🙂

  4. Looks like it came out perfect! A slice of heaven. 😉

  5. Rachel B says:

    It looks right to me. Great job!
    Cheers, Rachel
    http://www.tangerine-tart.blogspot.com

  6. Wendy says:

    Your pie-tart looks delicious!

  7. Cher says:

    I like the idea of one big “pie-tart”. Glad it worked out for you!

  8. Alice says:

    Just FYI – something I learned from so many years of baking, glass pans for baking take almost double the time or tend to have different effects on the item you are baking, if you can – using a dark colored pan is best. I used a large tart pan myself, and it was pretty easy and the times for baking changed only slightly. 😉 Great job though! It looks great!

Leave a Reply

