Baking Susan

Love to Bake!!

Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

on November 6, 2012

This weeks’s host is Alisa of Easier Than Pie.

I was very excited to make these, as we had been working on perfecting the best crumb cake the past week. So, a crumb muffin, perfect! Only these are quite different than crumb cake. The crumb layer is very small, and more like a crunch topping than a crumb layer. And the muffins themselves had such a great spice flavor, perfect for the season! Delicious all in all.

What I don’t understand is that they are flat on top. I know that they are supposed to be,but why? What makes some muffins flat on top and others not? I definitely need to look into this.

This recipe was easy and the flavor was great. I will be making these again. I may even try a variation and put in some pumpkin to go with all that yummy spice flavor. (Those of you who know me, know that I eat, drink, and live for pumpkin right now.).

20121029-072003.jpg

20121029-072010.jpg

20121029-072015.jpg

7 responses to “Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

  1. SandraM says:

    I agree, the recipe was very easy. I will try them again. I did add pumpkin and it was tasty. (but I overmixed and they were a little tough)

  2. Cindy Harris says:

    What makes some muffins look like Grand Canyon? Mine totally sunk, but the taste was good.

  3. Ckay says:

    I’m so glad you liked them …
    What surprised me was the long mixing of the ingredients. When I make muffins I just fold the wet ingredients into the dry and do not overmix. Could this be the reason for the sinking?
    Mine didn’t sink at all…. probably because I’ve totally pimped up the recipe.

  4. smarkies says:

    hmmm… mine did not sink either. In fact it ended up with a little dome… Not exactly sure what I did but when they were baking I definitely thought they took a bit long to rise.

  5. Maggie says:

    Some of mine had nice rounded tops and others were a little flat and I do think it had to do with not mixing very much – I stopped as soon as the last dry spot was swallowed up. I loved the flavor of these too & I think pumpkin in them would be delish!

  6. Cathleen says:

    It is interesting how others turn out so differently. I had expected these to be more like a crumb cake as well.

  7. I was a bit mystified by the flat top as well!
    I kept waiting for a bit of a mound but nothing happened!
    They tasted pretty good tho!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

