Baking Susan

Love to Bake!!

TWD: CRANBERRY WALNUT PUMPKIN LOAVES

on October 2, 2012

The host this week is Rebecca at This Bountiful Backyard.  First off, I must say I was epecting this to be a quick bread recipe.  What a surprise to find that it was a yeast bread and needed to rise overnight.  That being said, it wasn’t too labor intensive despite this.  I couldn’t find fresh or frozen cranberries just yet, so I used dried cranberries.  Also, I had pecans on hand so used those instead of the walnuts.  So I guess you could say I made “craisin pecan pumpkin loaves.”  I didn’t have the smaller loaf pans, so I used a larger size also.  Personally, this wasn’t my favorite.  I had been so excited to make it since I just love pumpkin, but I didn’t find it to have much pumpkin flavor.  It is good enjoyed as I would enjoy cinnamon raisin bread (toasted with butter), just wasn’t the intense pumpkin I was looking for.

2 responses to “TWD: CRANBERRY WALNUT PUMPKIN LOAVES

  1. Cindy Harris says:

    The think the pumpkin added more color than flavor. I enjoyed this but I really need to make a quick pumpkin bread this week–we’ve all been dreaming of it I think.

    • Cathleen says:

      I too was hoping for a more pumpkin flavor. It was reminiscent of the raisin bread I had growing up! (I had to “reply” to Cindy’s comment for I have never been able to comment on your site. :()

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

